UK Stationary Engine Forum
 

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > The Workshop

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-10-17, 11:56 AM   #11
Chippie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heritage Green Backworth, Newcastle
Posts: 437
Default

Jim,
I have a vfd on each of my three machines, 2 lathes and a mill.
The smaller lathe has a Teco vfd, the existing stop/ start and fwd/rev are utiised with the inverter.
My bigger lathe and mill each use an Invertek vfd bought from Engineers Mate ( google) Both are rated at 1.5 kw and run from a std 13A socket.

For speed range, I wouldnt have it any other way, vfd and 3 ph motor gives great flexibilty....and the cost isnt prohibitive.....
Chippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 01:10 PM   #12
Anton
Forum Supporter 2013
 
Anton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Groesbeek, the Netherlands
Posts: 397
Default new lathe

https://elektromotor-online.nl/produ...-ip20/?lang=en


have a look at elektromotor-online


Anton
Anton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 01:41 PM   #13
sinna42
Forum Supporter 2013
 
sinna42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Stirling
Posts: 1,846
Default

Thanks !

It does look like the consensus is to abandon the original machine controls and use these inverter drives with a pendant control for fwd/stop/rev & speed.
The prices are really not that much.

Cheers,
Jim
__________________
Too many engines & not enough space !!
sinna42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 01:55 PM   #14
Chippie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heritage Green Backworth, Newcastle
Posts: 437
Default

I have the Teco L510 unit fitted to my smaller lathe, very good it is....but my advice fwiw, avoid the E2 series.....the power supplies inside are prone to going pop! They are old models anyway....( I know from past experience of having repaired many of them that I got from Dave at Drives Direct)
Chippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 03:58 PM   #15
Robotstar5
Senior Member
 
Robotstar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinpaff View Post
Jim



This is what I'm using to run a 2hp Tom Senior Major. It came from "Drives Direct" in Nottingham, and I can't recommend them enough - very knowledgeable and helpful.

Yes, it needs to be wired directly to the motor, but by using the optional wired remote control you get a control panel (including speed control) that you can position anywhere.

I completely removed the motor controls from the TS, and glued neodymium magnets to the back of the remote, so that I can park it wherever it suits me on the machine.

The inverter does lots of useful things, including ramped start and stop, and even has an automatic programme to "tune" the motor for best results.

MP
Another vote for drives direct, they have good feedback on another forum I'm on. I didn't know Yaskawa did drives as well, I've programmed a few of their robots in the 80's.

Cable entries could do with a bit of strain relief

Stuart.
__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's an electrical problem.
Robotstar5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 04:09 PM   #16
Lister M
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 3,908
Default

Stuart,

Martin is ex RAF, that's obviously how he was taught to do it
__________________
Lister optimum melius quam ceteri, quid tibi pro vita.
Lister M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 04:18 PM   #17
martinpaff
Admin Team
Forum Supporter
 
martinpaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 11,249
Default

Taught? Who says I was ever taught anything?!

Yes, they could do with strain relief, but the units are designed for cabinet mounting and don't have the facility. The plan was to sort something out once it had worked successfully, but since it's working successfully I've more important things to be doing!

MP
martinpaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 04:28 PM   #18
Robotstar5
Senior Member
 
Robotstar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lister M View Post
Stuart,

Martin is ex RAF, that's obviously how he was taught to do it


Can't knock ex forces, JLR employ quite a few ex-service folks, we have an RAF guy as a Sparky and a REME guy as a fitter in the maintenance dept. on our area and they both show an amazing attention to detail when working

Stuart.
__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's an electrical problem.
Robotstar5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 04:32 PM   #19
Robotstar5
Senior Member
 
Robotstar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinpaff View Post
Taught? Who says I was ever taught anything?!

Yes, they could do with strain relief, but the units are designed for cabinet mounting and don't have the facility. The plan was to sort something out once it had worked successfully, but since it's working successfully I've more important things to be doing!

MP
VFD's normally have a cable support bar under the terminal bank with metal clamps to bear down on the cable screens.

Stuart.
__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's an electrical problem.
Robotstar5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-17, 04:45 PM   #20
Lister M
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 3,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robotstar5 View Post
VFD's normally have a cable support bar under the terminal bank with metal clamps to bear down on the cable screens.

Stuart.
They don't on the Siemens 420 series, I have two that I have acquired and even when using them at work they are mounted on the back plate and the cables run into cable trays to leave the cabinet via cable glands.

Stuart, I'm not knocking the military, when I retired work had three, two ex army and one ex RAF, the only issue I had was their desire to take charge of everything even when they didn't have a clue what they were doing.

Martin P
__________________
Lister optimum melius quam ceteri, quid tibi pro vita.
Lister M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.