UK Stationary Engine Forum
 

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > Engine-Specific Forum Sections > Stuart-Turner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-17, 08:33 PM   #21
nickh
Forum Supporter 2013
 
nickh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middx.
Posts: 12,237
Default

Still in the back of the car but looks good - turns over with compression and no obvious nasty noises.

Cant reconcile those flat belt pulleys with original assumed application by Fairmile but who knows?

NHH
nickh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-17, 02:37 PM   #22
nickh
Forum Supporter 2013
 
nickh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middx.
Posts: 12,237
Default

A few pics after a quick clean-up.

NHH
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1010070.jpg (131.6 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg P1010071.jpg (154.9 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg P1010072.jpg (135.0 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg P1010073.jpg (136.3 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg P1010074.jpg (115.5 KB, 25 views)
nickh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-17, 02:46 PM   #23
Lister M
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 3,916
Default

Is the twin pulley standard and what would it have been used for.

Martin P
__________________
Lister optimum melius quam ceteri, quid tibi pro vita.
Lister M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-17, 04:07 PM   #24
nickh
Forum Supporter 2013
 
nickh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middx.
Posts: 12,237
Default

From Peter:-
Quote:
Originally Posted by listerdiesel View Post
32514 sold 15th August 1941 to Fairmile Marine, part of a larger order for 18 units.

Pump lubricated, Lancashire Dyno & Crypto dynamo 89Y506 and switchboard 5186. Miller magneto.

If they were used on Fairmile MTB's, then they would have used petrol from the main tanks, obviating the need for petroil mix.

Peter
Your guess is as good as mine on the pulley which by the has a 'V' between the two flat belt areas.

NHH
nickh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-17, 04:25 PM   #25
listerdiesel
Admin Team
Forum Supporter
 
listerdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15,838
Default

I seem to remember something about twin dynamos?

I'll check tomorrow.

Peter
listerdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-17, 05:46 PM   #26
listerdiesel
Admin Team
Forum Supporter
 
listerdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15,838
Default

Thinking about this again, I think they had two engines per dynamo in the setup.

Peter
listerdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-17, 06:04 PM   #27
nickh
Forum Supporter 2013
 
nickh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middx.
Posts: 12,237
Default

That was the case for the P5LY ASDIC sets http://www.stationary-engine.net/for...76&postcount=1

NHH
nickh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-17, 06:37 PM   #28
skankin_giant
Forum Supporter 2013
 
skankin_giant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kernow (Cornwall)
Posts: 11,162
Default

Looks nice Nick, have you worked out which Magneto it has yet?
__________________
The Wizard from The Lizard
WW1 ABC, Norman SC, Sattley TA, Scott SE, Stuart H1, K, R3 & WD, Teagle B2, Villiers WX11
skankin_giant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-17, 06:42 PM   #29
nickh
Forum Supporter 2013
 
nickh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middx.
Posts: 12,237
Default

Peter's info says Miller.

NHH
nickh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-17, 05:04 PM   #30
listerdiesel
Admin Team
Forum Supporter
 
listerdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15,838
Default

"Generally as Plant 32502"




Peter
listerdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.