UK Stationary Engine Forum
 

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > Engine-Only Stuff > Diesel Engine Section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-07-17, 01:09 PM   #1
Hollandengine
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 30
Default Re use locking plate for conrodnuts possible?

Dear forum members,

I've reassembled the piston and conrod if my Kubota recently.
To lock the conrod nuts a locking plate with 2 holes is needed.
Unfortunately this plate is not available
Pitch of these holes is 52mm.
I have my doubts to re use the old one.
Don't know if there is an alternative?
Seen similar plates for a Ferguson TEF engine but think these are too big. Has someone on the forum a Ferguson?
Hollandengine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-17, 01:51 PM   #2
Robotstar5
Senior Member
 
Robotstar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 1,375
Default

Do you mean the type where you bend the plate up against a flat on the nut?, I normally flatten the plate and bend a different part up against the nut.
__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's an electrical problem.
Robotstar5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-17, 02:50 PM   #3
Lister M
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 4,344
Default

If it is the plate type I would not re use it and make a new one.

Martin P
__________________
Lister optimum melius quam ceteri, quid tibi pro vita.
Lister M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-17, 04:47 PM   #4
Hollandengine
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 30
Default Picture of locking plate

Thanks for your reply.
See the picture of the locking plate.
Width 19mm
Sheet thickness 1mm.
First thought was stainless steel material.
However after a few weeks there is corrosion visible.
Think a regular carbon steel could do the trick; correct?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20170724_173522.jpg (40.2 KB, 28 views)
Hollandengine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-17, 05:18 PM   #5
nickh
Forum Supporter 2013
 
nickh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middx.
Posts: 12,976
Default

Remember fitting similar on Hillman Imp engines years ago and they certainly 'felt' like ordinary mild steel.

NHH
nickh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-17, 08:00 PM   #6
Robotstar5
Senior Member
 
Robotstar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 1,375
Default

Could you modify a 32mm distance saddle?, just use the top strap - link to saddle

Stuart.
__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's an electrical problem.
Robotstar5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-17, 09:08 PM   #7
Hollandengine
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Holland
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robotstar5 View Post
Could you modify a 32mm distance saddle?, just use the top strap - link to saddle

Stuart.
Hi Stuart,

Thanks for the tip.
Seems a good alternative.
Hollandengine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.