UK Stationary Engine Forum
 

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > Engine-Only Stuff > Ignition Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-08-13, 07:32 PM   #1
raggy 1
Senior Member
 
raggy 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IN A HOUSE IN NOTTS
Posts: 761
Default Spark plug for wolseley w.d2

What plug do other forumites use in their wolseley w.d2s?I have been having issues with two different NGK plugs,a B6HS and a B6S.The engine runs very roughly on both even at various gaps.To make the engine run well i have to bring the choke lever back three notches from fully open.So what plugs are out there that are suitable for the wolseley?

Last edited by raggy 1; 19-08-13 at 07:36 PM. Reason: Spelling mistake
raggy 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-13, 07:37 PM   #2
Windrush
Forum Supporter 2011
 
Windrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire.
Posts: 7,022
Default

I run (on Kenny aka WOOLSLEY)'s advice a B6HS and have no problems. However if the engine is running light I need half choke wheras on a milking set etc the lever can be pushed right forward. The same applies to my Ruston PT, it isn't happy when running light but under a good load choke isn't required.

Pete.
Windrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-13, 12:11 PM   #3
raggy 1
Senior Member
 
raggy 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IN A HOUSE IN NOTTS
Posts: 761
Default

We did a few adjustments this morning(neighborours gone on holiday)and changed a few settings.We set the points to 14thou and a plug gap of 25thou.At those settings and with three notches back on the choke lever the engine runs quite well but the only spark plug it seems to like is a champion J8C which is the wrong plug but it runs well on it.
raggy 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-13, 05:50 PM   #4
jmcgrath
Senior Member
 
jmcgrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illogan Cornwall
Posts: 1,216
Default

I run mine on a Champion L90
__________________
James
Too many engines to list
jmcgrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-13, 05:57 PM   #5
martinpaff
Admin Team
Forum Supporter
 
martinpaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 11,811
Default

It's quite normal for a Wolseley (not all, but many) on no load to require the choke back a few notches.

Although there is a long thread in the Wolseley head, the engine should be fitted with a 1/2" short-reach plug. If your magneto is good the Wolseley will run on absolutely anything that fills the hole! Mine have NGK B6s because they're cheap!

Martin.
martinpaff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-13, 06:53 PM   #6
raggy 1
Senior Member
 
raggy 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IN A HOUSE IN NOTTS
Posts: 761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinpaff View Post
It's quite normal for a Wolseley (not all, but many) on no load to require the choke back a few notches.

Although there is a long thread in the Wolseley head, the engine should be fitted with a 1/2" short-reach plug. If your magneto is good the Wolseley will run on absolutely anything that fills the hole! Mine have NGK B6s because they're cheap!

Martin.
The mag is good martin with a good coil(when bought it had a duff one)and a new condensor(duff when the engine was bought).It seems that when for a couple of minutes when the plug is getting hot the engine runs nice and even but as soon as it starts to warm up it starts miss firing and eight stroke at times.That the case when a NGK B6HS,L90,L81 and a Lodge CN is put in.Put a J8c in and its much better. Alan

Last edited by raggy 1; 20-08-13 at 06:58 PM. Reason: Missing words
raggy 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-13, 08:29 AM   #7
novo
Senior Member
 
novo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 6,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinpaff View Post
It's quite normal for a Wolseley (not all, but many) on no load to require the choke back a few notches.

Although there is a long thread in the Wolseley head, the engine should be fitted with a 1/2" short-reach plug. If your magneto is good the Wolseley will run on absolutely anything that fills the hole! Mine have NGK B6s because they're cheap!

Martin.
Do you know the reason for a short reach plug in a long reach hole Martin? I can only assume it protects the plug, but it seems a bit odd. Surely it would promote fouling.
__________________
Growing old is mandatory,Growing up is optional
novo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-13, 09:16 AM   #8
martinpaff
Admin Team
Forum Supporter
 
martinpaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 11,811
Default

Don't really know, but R&H did it too, on the PB series; they fitted an elbow in the plug hole and the plug in the top of the elbow. One theory says it was just to protect the plug from getting bashed, whilst I've also heard it said that it prevented the plug from fouling.

MP
martinpaff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-13, 01:35 PM   #9
novo
Senior Member
 
novo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 6,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinpaff View Post
Don't really know, but R&H did it too, on the PB series; they fitted an elbow in the plug hole and the plug in the top of the elbow. One theory says it was just to protect the plug from getting bashed, whilst I've also heard it said that it prevented the plug from fouling.

MP
Car manufacturers went the other way & used extended nose plugs that put the electrodes in the combustion chamber. I cant see how hiding the plug up a hole can prevent fouling. Still, what they did seemed to work, so what do I know:crazy:
__________________
Growing old is mandatory,Growing up is optional
novo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-18, 10:47 PM   #10
slatteybarn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: northants
Posts: 800
Default

Wd engines will run with just about any plug that will screw it the hole and produce a spark.and from my experience it doesn't have to be a very good spark at that.my 1945 wd2 has the plug screwed in hand tight only, the plug is one that was knocking around on the bench 5years ago and it's only been taken out once in all that time and thst was to put in the mower.
Regards
Phil
slatteybarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.