UK Stationary Engine Forum
 

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > Engine-Specific Forum Sections > Stuart-Turner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-18, 03:21 PM   #51
Hornet 6
Forum Supporter 2013
 
Hornet 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Rochford
Posts: 2,312
Default

My P5 is tank cooled, with a belt driven pump, just pick a pump that is designed to handle engine coolant temperatures. Tank needs to be a sensible size as well, no fire extinguishers for these engines, look for around 10 gallons, mine is half that and boils continuously, needs changing soon.

Neil.
__________________
Wolseley WD 8, Stuart Turner P5, Maytag 92, Kubota KND3, Maytag 72.
Hornet 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-18, 08:47 PM   #52
Sean Williams
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hitchin, Herts.
Posts: 80
Default

Had an enjoyable run to Bridport today - some recent eBay trawling found a bedplate, from what I think was an ST lighting set.

Anyway, it looks better than a couple of lumps of angle iron, and some rotting timber - I will feel much more confident in attempting to start the engine now.

Now, if I can arrange a collection time for the Dynamo (as mentioned earlier) I can see just how wrong I am with my eyeball engineering.

I think I will go down the route of Tank cooling - thanks for the earlier advice - the radiator is really in a poor way, and is going to cost a small fortune to get repaired.

Note to self..... Need to get a set of Whitworth tools :)

I've added a couple of pictures to this album

https://www.flickr.com/gp/139685394@N07/FNr9A1

Bit warm here for playing with engines!
Sean Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-18, 08:03 PM   #53
Sean Williams
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hitchin, Herts.
Posts: 80
Default

Generator collected today.... It's a fair bit bigger than expected.

Going to need to come up with a solution to make it all work

https://flic.kr/p/281LpeS

Is there any way of identifying what the engine was originally used for, and what or where the Dynamo was supposed to be used for?

Last edited by Sean Williams; 13-07-18 at 08:10 PM.
Sean Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-18, 08:24 PM   #54
skankin_giant
Forum Supporter 2013
 
skankin_giant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kernow (Cornwall)
Posts: 11,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Williams View Post

Is there any way of identifying what the engine was originally used for, and what or where the Dynamo was supposed to be used for?
Not at the moment, Peter who held the records is sadly no longer with us.
__________________
The Wizard from The Lizard
WW1 ABC, Brockhouse Spryt, Norman SC, Sattley TA, Scott SE, Stuart H1, K, Pre-P3, R3 & WD, Villiers WX11
skankin_giant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-18, 08:53 PM   #55
Sean Williams
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hitchin, Herts.
Posts: 80
Default

Ah, Yes, now you mention it I remember that Peter has all the Stuart Archives. Ok, well certainly not going to go anywhere down that route.

Will have to try to work things out some other way.

The Dynamo does seem very big for 1500 Watts!

The shaft centres of the engine and the dynamo match perfectly on this bedplate, so I guess that I must be somewhere near right, perhaps this dynamo came from an engine that had a different flywheel or coupling style.
Sean Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-18, 09:59 PM   #56
nickh
Forum Supporter 2013
 
nickh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middx.
Posts: 12,973
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Williams View Post
(snip)The Dynamo does seem very big for 1500 Watts!
Nothing seems exactly small or light weight in the world of Stuart!

Nice to see a set coming together rather than being broken up.

NHH
nickh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-18, 11:51 PM   #57
Sean Williams
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hitchin, Herts.
Posts: 80
Default

Thanks Nick, I seem to have a bit of a thing for collecting odds and ends and trying to make something useful.

I think this one is going to be a bit frankenstein though - at 4HP, the engine is conservatively rated for a 1500W Gen

No control box as yet - am planning to go to GDSF, so might find something sensible there, otherwise it will be fabrication time.

The dynamo is certainly New Old Stock, the only comm and brush wear is from my rotating things by hand.

Cheers
Sean
Sean Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.