UK Stationary Engine Forum

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > Restorations Section

Old 01-05-17, 07:50 PM   #1
2010macjac

Default Finally got one!

well I have been hanging my nose over a engine in a local shed for 4 years now and 6 months ago it came for sale, I made a good bid on it and the owner was happy. however his daughter became very ill, so I kept in touch and kept the pressure off. however someone else got wind of the engine and also put in a lower bid on it. then disaster struck with the passing of his daughter the owner got confused and sold it to the other bloke! I was and still am gutted but am still talking to the chap and its not a problem.

now the good news, I managed to find another engine also local to me with a lot a bidding its home!

the engine in question is a Ruston and Hornsby PB 4.5HP built in Lincoln and sold by A.G. Cooper Wisbech. And now its back in Morton, Lincolnshire so she hasn't travelled far in life.

IMG-20170501-WA0006 by John Clare, on Flickr
IMG-20170501-WA0005 by John Clare, on Flickr
IMG-20170501-WA0003 by John Clare, on Flickr
looking forward to getting into it. never had a Ruston so I will be doing lots of research to get this one perfect.
Old 01-05-17, 07:58 PM   #2
Hornet 6
Forum Supporter 2013

Patience pays off in the end, well done and enjoy it.

Neil.
Hornet 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-17, 08:04 PM   #3
Appletop

That's a nice lump. And looks to be an easy task to get going.

Bit of a lump though so watch ya toes!

Potest non melior Petter. milia passuum melius quam Lister
Appletop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-17, 08:08 PM   #4
air-cooled

Cooper's built crop and orchard sprayers, so this might have been on one of these outfits.

Phillip
Old 01-05-17, 08:21 PM   #5
Appletop

They did, and it's got a sprocket so probably was of a spray set Phillip.

Old 01-05-17, 08:24 PM   #6
air-cooled

It's a reasonable assumption I think, Rob.

Phillip