UK Stationary Engine Forum

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > Engine-Only Stuff > Generators

Old 24-03-18, 09:29 PM   #1
Shaun_

Default Lister .75kw Help Needed

Good Afternoon All,

I recently brought a Lister D Lighting Set, this is my first generator and when it comes to this i am a bit of a novice, i'm not sure whether it works or not and how to wire everything up, i'll need some help and advice please.

I'm looking for Volt & Amp Gauges
Blade Switches would look nice
Variable Resister

The generator is .75KW, 55 Volts & 13.6 Amps

IMAG0733 by Shaun Coe, on Flickr

IMAG0734 by Shaun Coe, on Flickr

Here is a photo inside the wire box.
What is each wire and its purpose?
Is there a way i can use a multimeter and spinning by hand to check to see if it produces voltage.

I've been looking at Variable Resisters, how do i would out what Ohm rating i would need?

Thank you for any help
Shaun
Old 25-03-18, 10:01 PM   #2
Lucien Nunes
Forum Supporter 2011

First job will be to trace the wiring of the generator. I might have the book for this plant but it is well to check anyway. It is also a good idea to inspect the commutator and brushes for signs of trouble - they act as a tell-tale for armature faults. If all is good, it can be spun over (turning by hand won't do anything) and it will generate without any other equipment needed at this stage. If it is not convenient to belt it up, it can be run as a motor from a car battery. If it motors correctly, it should also generate when the time comes.

Tracing the wiring.
Some units have have letter codes on the terminal lugs, e.g. A, AA, AZ etc which actually tell you what the leads connect to. Yours has numbers instead, which don't mean anything specific, they just correspond to the wiring diagram. There are lots of different possible permutations but simple resistance tests with a multimeter should reveal all.