UK Stationary Engine Forum
 

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > The Workshop > Tricks of the Trade

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-01-11, 10:49 PM   #1
st150bhp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default belts

Hi i have no belts at the moment but i do have a bike innertube would that work?
  Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-11, 11:00 PM   #2
miley_bob
Senior Member
 
miley_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,540
Default

I wouldn't advise using an inner tube. I have seen the damage that can be done by using the wrong belting material, and it is not pretty. Just buy som proper belting as was advised last week.
miley_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-11, 11:03 PM   #3
Suffolkcharlie
Forum Supporter 2011
 
Suffolkcharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Storrington,west sussex
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by st150bhp View Post
Hi i have no belts at the moment but i do have a bike innertube would that work?
I used an innertube and it grabbed hold of my stuart turner pump and got pulled into the D's flywheel then trebuchaed it across the garden, dont do it trust me
__________________
1934 Lister DK shafty Lister LR1 genny Suffolk & Atcos Wolseley WD8 Stuart T pump Drummond 4" lathe
"Proper engines don't have spark plugs!"
Suffolkcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-11, 11:19 PM   #4
st150bhp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suffolkcharlie View Post
I used an innertube and it grabbed hold of my stuart turner pump and got pulled into the D's flywheel then trebuchaed it across the garden, dont do it trust me
i would use the proper stuff but its so expensive....
  Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-11, 11:29 PM   #5
Suffolkcharlie
Forum Supporter 2011
 
Suffolkcharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Storrington,west sussex
Posts: 537
Default

Its woth your life trust me
__________________
1934 Lister DK shafty Lister LR1 genny Suffolk & Atcos Wolseley WD8 Stuart T pump Drummond 4" lathe
"Proper engines don't have spark plugs!"
Suffolkcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-11, 11:31 PM   #6
miley_bob
Senior Member
 
miley_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by st150bhp View Post
i would use the proper stuff but its so expensive....
5 a meter (as quoted in the previous thread by MartinPaff) is actually pretty cheap. If your going to be using an inner tube than you cant need more than a tenners worth.

Do it with the right materials, as I have said the consequences of using the wrong stuff are not pretty when it goes wrong.
miley_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-11, 11:32 PM   #7
wolseley phill
Forum Supporter 2013
 
wolseley phill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Horsebridge, East Sussex "steamwally" on Youtube
Posts: 9,916
Default

Well if it's a 5 a meter that is fairly expensive, but it will be more expensive in the long run to use the wrong thing and risk damadge. Save up the pennies....what I have to do when ever I want something.

Sometimes you will find belts at rallies. I bought several V belts at rallies, one being a scammel lorry fan belt but was long enough to use with belt pulleys, cost 1.

Phill.
wolseley phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-11, 11:45 PM   #8
miley_bob
Senior Member
 
miley_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolseley phill View Post
Well if it's a 5 a meter that is fairly expensive,
Phill.
For decent quality flat belting thats pretty cheap.
miley_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-11, 11:48 PM   #9
wolseley phill
Forum Supporter 2013
 
wolseley phill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Horsebridge, East Sussex "steamwally" on Youtube
Posts: 9,916
Default

Ok, well it might cost a bit more from some people, but I'm sure you will agree it's worth saving for.
wolseley phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-11, 12:26 AM   #10
skankin_giant
Forum Supporter 2013
 
skankin_giant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kernow (Cornwall)
Posts: 11,580
Default

Do you need a flat belt? if you that desperate to try surly a V belt will do the job?

http://www.bearingboys.co.uk/A_Section__13x8_-1059-c

With a innertube you have a valve spinning around, if you take the valve out that will leave a hole that will tear under tension. I converted my push bike to tubeless, much less trouble on the rough stuff!


Cheers Steve
__________________
The Wizard from The Lizard
WW1 ABC, Brockhouse Spryt, Norman SC, Sattley TA, Scott SE, Stuart H1, K, Pre-P3 & WD, Villiers WX11
skankin_giant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.