UK Stationary Engine Forum
 

Go Back   UK Stationary Engine Forum > Main Engine Section > Engine-Only Stuff > Petrol Engine Section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-04-18, 02:06 PM   #1
Dan_pt
Forum Supporter 2011
 
Dan_pt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: wickford
Posts: 3,153
Default Norman T300 anomalies.

I picked up a little Mk 1 T300 at the Oakley sale on Saturday and there is something weird about the breather. It has been plumbed into the intake via a tap fitted to a spacer block between the carb and crankcase. The current set up will certainly pull the fumes out but it doesn't look right to me. Tge governor linkage looks a wrong too.

Dan.
Dan_pt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-18, 02:39 PM   #2
nickh
Forum Supporter 2013
 
nickh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middx.
Posts: 13,023
Default

Sound like it has a vacuum take-off for Autovac fuel pump.

EDIT; see http://www.stationary-engine.net/for...30&postcount=4

NHH

Last edited by nickh; 18-04-18 at 02:41 PM.
nickh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-18, 02:39 PM   #3
skankin_giant
Forum Supporter 2013
 
skankin_giant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kernow (Cornwall)
Posts: 11,544
Default

Iirc the tap behind the block is for the auto vac fuel system.
__________________
The Wizard from The Lizard
WW1 ABC, Brockhouse Spryt, Norman SC, Sattley TA, Scott SE, Stuart H1, K, Pre-P3, R3 & WD, Villiers WX11
skankin_giant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-18, 03:49 PM   #4
Dan_pt
Forum Supporter 2011
 
Dan_pt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: wickford
Posts: 3,153
Default

Thanks for that. It certainly explains what the tap is for. I wonder how it ran with an open connection to the crankcase? It looks like it has been like that for a very long time.
BTW, does anyone have a magneto for one of these? I'm guessing that as it is a Mk1 that it would have originally had a BTH fitted but I would be more than happy with a Wico A.
When I get some time I'll post some pictures up. The governor linkage has been set so that it is crossed over the top of the carb. Fitted as it is it would have been trying to pull the speed down, not up.

Dan.
Dan_pt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-18, 06:14 PM   #5
air-cooled
Senior Member
 
air-cooled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,844
Default

Agree with the auto vac comments.

Yes, it would have originaly had a BTH MC2 magneto fitted, but the Wico A twin will fit in its place if you choose the one with the correct thin sheet metal base plate.

Phillip
__________________
aere refrigeratum
air-cooled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-18, 09:01 AM   #6
woodsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Gods own county - Yorkshire
Posts: 289
Default

Yup.
Mine came with BTH MC2 - not sure if is original. Hard to fine (at least by me) and twin WICO A seems a bit thin on the ground also.
__________________
Regards Paul

Tha can alus tell a Yorkshireman - but tha can't tell him much.
woodsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-18, 07:11 PM   #7
air-cooled
Senior Member
 
air-cooled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,844
Default

Wico magneto is type A1310BZ

Phillip
__________________
aere refrigeratum
air-cooled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-18, 07:20 PM   #8
Dan_pt
Forum Supporter 2011
 
Dan_pt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: wickford
Posts: 3,153
Default

Thanks for that.. I'll keep a lookout for one. I have pulled the barrels off it and it all looks rather good internally. It should be a nice runner when back together.

Dan.
Dan_pt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.